I Am Spartacus

Feng Shui Diaries Heading

Solar fortnight beginning:

Friday August 7th 2009 18.07

Month: Yum Shen, The Water Monkey

Solar Fortnight: Lap Chow, Autumn Begins

I am Spartacus.

It’s a funny shaky time. Today as I look at the auspicious dates I see that there is a week coming up when everything looks bleak: a Princess Diana/911 type of energy from the 1st to the 7th September. What do we do with this stuff ? I am responsible for my life and there is no value in imagining nastiness when there is quite enough already out there.

The Hexagram from the Book of Changes for the quarter from June 22 to September 22nd is Number 48, fire over wind, the Well. The Well’s central significance is about caring for resources. One implication of this in the world at large is that America’s attention is too much on oil and too little on health. Afghanistan may yet be Obama’s undoing. Teddy Kennedy who made universal healthcare his life’s priority has just died, severing connections made with a hundred thousand handshakes. My friend eccentric genius Pete Hobson who I had not seen for more than a decade killed himself this week too. He only made it to the Scilly Isles edition of The Cornishman.

And then all the way from St Petersburg, Florida, my nearly daughter-in-law the lovely Miss Prilla invites me to place the following as my Facebook status :

No one should die because they can’t afford healthcare. No one should go broke because they get sick. We are only as strong as the weakest among us. If you agree make this your Facebook status.”

What difference can I make to an elderly black woman in the projects of Detroit crippled without the hip replacement she needs?

We have been spoiled with National Health. We don’t fight for the right to receive free innoculations, we fight for the right to refuse them. If our lives are threatened, the worst that happens is that we have to wait to receive attention. Care is never denied.

Joey my 14-year old, turns down the volume on his post-punk and adopts this as his status, replacing his current smart-arse one-liner. So does Sheila and my daughter Henrietta and all over my Facebook it begins to spread like swine flu. Sheila is so moved, she can’t talk. It’s like the last reel of Spartacus. No one (other than Hugh Grant who famously aspired to being Ibiza in About a Boy) is an island.

Don’t as Margaret Mead remarked, “underestimate the power of a small group…to change the world. Indeed it’s the only thing that ever has.”

These ramblings are read by thousands. I invite you to join us. We do not have to buy into the darkness.

Richard Ashworth © 2009

Names have been changed to protect..uh…me. My (still) super-duper (still) revamped website is at http://www.imperialfengshui.info and The Feng Shui Diaries the book is available now from:
Amazon
Waterstones
And of course all good bookshops. Do buy it from a bookshop if you can.

49, Midhurst Road,

Fernhurst, Haslemere,

GU27, 3EN

tel: 01428 658900

fax: 01428 658990

info@imperialfengshui.info

One to One Consultations:

Holistic Centre, Godalming, Surrey | tel: 01483 418103

31 Harley St, London W1 | tel: 01428 658900

Corporate and Media Contact:

Peter Dunne. Tel. 07768 617330

peter@peterdunne.com

© Richard Ashworth 2009

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “I Am Spartacus”

  1. margotmarrakesh Says:

    Richard,

    I’m delighted to have found your new Feng Shui blog, and am linking it to my Feng Shui blogroll.

    Best of luck! I look forward to reading more of what you have to say.

    Best regards,
    Margot, the Wood Sheep
    Travels of a Wood Sheep in the World of Feng Shui
    http://www.woodsheep.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

